Bobcat Pride Scholarship Fund

Educate Embrace Empower

Donor Events

Donor Soiree - October 2015

Dr. Joey Martin opened his home for a lovely 5th annual Fall Soiree. We announced our new goals and provided a progress report of all the scholarships we've been able to provide over the last five years. We officially announced our Summer Leadership Scholarship recipient, Britt Tovar, and our Fall Academic Achievement Scholarship recipient, Andrew McNair. We also welcomed new Legacy Circle members!

5th Birthday Party 2015

Our 5th Birthday Party was a fun night full of celebration! Here's to five more years serving LGBTQIA Texas State students. We raised $3,500 for student scholarships.

Fall Soiree 2014

Executive Director, Heather, and Student Relations Director, Manda, opened their home for a lovely 4th annual Fall Soiree. We announced our FY14 goals as well as our new initiative, the Emergency Stabilization Fund. We officially announced our Summer Leadership Scholarship recipient, Kami Rutherford, and our Fall Academic Achievement Scholarship recipient, Fillippa. We also welcomed new Legacy Circle members!

Donor Social - April 2014

Dr. Hardin and Mrs. Glenda Jurek-Rahe hosted a garden social for our supporters.  Enjoyable weather combined with delicious chocolate, cheese and wine pairings, made for a perfect event.  We officially announced Kami Rutherford and Brianna Penney as our spring Academic Achievement scholars.  We shared our vision of future growth for the fund, including the development of an emergency stabilization fund. 

Fall Soiree - October 2013

Jon and Stacie McGee opened their home for a successful 3rd annual soiree.  We officially announced Chris Duran and Vicki Bates as our fall Academic Achievement scholars.  We reflected on our progress towards our goals, and welcomed new Legacy Circle members.  Our generous supporters have allowed the fund to experience tremendous growth and stability. 

Donor Social - April 2013

Our donor social, hosted by Salon MINK, provided an evening of great conversations and celebration of our accomplishments and spring scholars. We officially honored our spring Academic Achievement scholars, Sarita Espinosa and Corey Kwoka.  We released our 2012 Annual Report which highlighted the growth of the scholarship. We shared our goals which include: 1) doubling the number of recurring donors, 2) increasing the number of new donors by 15%, 3) gaining two new Legacy Circle members, and 4) increasing the 2015-2016 Academic Achievement Scholarship award to $2500 per scholar. Many donors attended the Reading of "8" following the social.

Reading of "8" - April 2013

Over 200 people attended the reading of "8" on April 8th. The cast brought the Prop.8 court room to life. The talk-back discussion and experiences of the cast highlighted the impact of marriage equality for our local community. A huge round of applause to Corey Kwoka, Jeremy Torres, Shannon Richey, the Counseling Center and the Department of Theater and Dance for making the evening possible.

Fall Soiree - October 2012

BPSF executive board would like to thank Gayle and Jamie Bouzard for opening up their home to host our 2nd annual fall soiree. We officially announced Tyler Dukes as our fall Academic Achievement recipient. Additionally, we announced our inaugural Legacy Circle donors. Thanks to our generous supporters we raised over $3,000 in scholarship monies.

Fall Soiree - October 2011

The generous staff, faculty and community donors made the Soiree hosted by Dr. Joey Martin a huge success.  We officially announced Shaun Bryan Ford as our fall Academic Achievement recipient.  We had a great turn out and the donations received from supporters, those in attendance and from afar, helped us meet our 2012-2013 goals.

Spring Social - April 2011

Thank you to all who attended a successful fundraising social at Palmer's Restaurant, Bar & Courtyard!  We had a great turn out and the donations received from supporters, those in attendance and from afar, were awesome!  We officially recognized our first Academic Achievement stipend recipients, Derek Mergele and Joseph Flores!